music of 2011

S has been nagging me to blog for ages. And I have been a very bad blogger recently. Not sure why – I think it’s a simple matter of too much to do, too little time to do it in. Sorry! One of the things I keep meaning to blog about is my favourite music of 2011, to follow up from the 2010 music post I did. It’s a bit late, but I guess it’s better late than never.

So – in no particular order, here are my top albums of 2011:

1. Elbow – Build a rocket boys! Lippy kids is just one of the most beautiful songs ever, and while Seldom Seen Kid is still my favourite album of all time, this one is almost as wonderful.

2. Foster the People – Torches. The BEST walk-to-work album. Doesn’t fail to brighten up a Monday morning.

3. Noah and the Whale – Last Night on Earth. Perfection.

4. Bombay Bicycle Club – A Different Kind of Fix.

5. Wild Beasts – Smother. Possibly even better than Two Dancers – just so beautiful.

6. Laura Marling – A Creature I Don’t Know. I’m going to see her on 3 March – can’t wait.

7. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake.

8. Drive – Original motion picture soundtrack. Bit of a cheat entry, this one, because I haven’t even listened to the second half of it, other than during the movie. But the Kavinsy & Lovefoxx and the College tracks are freaking awesome and render this CD worthy of entry into the top 10.

9. SBTRKT – SBTRKT. Excellent stuff.

10. Amy Winehouse – Frank. Of course, this isn’t an album of 2011. But I listened to it a lot last year, for obvious reasons. It’s such a classic, and her loss is such a sad one.

{posted by F}

Leave a Reply

