the dilemma of the designer handbag

I never used to be much of a fan of designer handbags, I always kinda thought they were a CRAZY amount of money for a bag just because it had a name attached to it, and also, a lot of them are actually reeeeally ugly! I also really hate stuff with the name splashed about all over it, yuk. However… these days whenever I see a lady with a gorgeous bag on the street/tube/wherever, it always ends up being designer. Gah! I must be growing up. And maybe, spending £500-1000 (waaghhh!) on an insanely beautifully made bag which you could potentially love for forever more, rather than £100 on a high street bag (or £300 for a high end high street bag!) that you may get bored of after a year, is not such a bad idea.

Hmmmmm…. What are you thoughts on this?

Because I’ve recently been falling for some nice little designer numbers….! They really are quite beautiful. *sigh*

Chloe, Marc by Marc Jacobs, Mulberry.

{Posted by S}

5 comments
  1. I say splash out. That Chloe bag is to die for and you’re right – in the long run it’ll save money. I’ve had my trusty Bayswater for about 5 years now and use it every day. Saves spending £100 on a high street version every few months! 😀

  2. F&S said:

    I’m also a MASSIVE fan of the Chloe one… F x

  3. F&S said:

    Oooh the Bayswater is another one I think is insanely beautiful! Yeah, I think the Chloe one is my fave I just don’t know if I could actually bring myself to spend that much money on a bag! One day… 🙂

    Sally x

  4. ohh that chloe up top is such perfection- and a classic piece. Try checking out some high end consignment shops in your area- you’d be surprised what you might find. Also, think of these bags as an investment and divide the price by times of use..that might have steer off some of the guilt!
    xo
    Lauren

  5. F&S said:

    Yes, you’re right…! I think it would be a fantastic investment and one day I will buy one 🙂 thank you for helping to remove my guilt a bit!!
    Sally x

Leave a Reply

